When I tried to post a new entry to my blog a few minutes ago, I came across this page. It says: “Access to this site has been suspended in accordance with decision no: 2007/195 of T.C. Fatih 2.Civil Court of First Instance.”

At first, I thought it was my blog but after trying to access WordPress.com‘s main page, I noticed the entire WordPress.com domain was blocked by the authorities.

Another ridiculous example of censorship on the Internet content, in Turkey. There are hundred thousands of blogs on WordPress.com and none can be accessed via Turk Telekom’s DNS servers now.

This decision of the court is a shame for a country which claims to respect free speech. I protest this unfair blockage on WordPress and call all the Turkish bloggers to support free speech and to condemn censorship.

clipped from wordpress.com

Bu siteye erişim mahkeme kararıyla engellenmiştir.

T.C. Fatih 2.Asliye Hukuk Mahkemesi 2007/195 Nolu Kararı gereği bu siteye erişim engellenmiştir.

Access to this site has been suspended in accordance with decision no: 2007/195 of T.C. Fatih 2.Civil Court of First Instance.

  blog it

Tags: , , , , ,